top of page
  • Writer's pictureSpa 23

Healthy Foods for Migraine Relief

Written By: Victoria Tully


About a month ago, I learned that I had a moderate case of COVID-19. For about two weeks, I had the following symptoms: shortness of breath, nausea, cough, migraines, etc. Although I feel much better now, a few symptoms stuck around. One of the major symptoms I couldn’t shake are migraines. So in order to help treat my migraines, I decided to try a few foods known to relieve migraines.


Many studies have shown that a vegan, whole-food diet helps with migraines due to the limited amount of processed foods consumed. Given that I am already plant based, it wasn’t too hard to transition into a whole-food diet once my migraines started.According to healthline.com, it is believed that foods like orange, yellow, and green vegetables, such as summer squash, sweet potatoes, carrots, and spinach can actually help prevent migraines. Since finding this out, I decided to add a few new staple items to my diet.


One of the tastiest and quickest snacks to prepare is sweet potatoes drizzled with peanut butter. Initially, I thought it would make a weird combination, but surprisingly, I actually really enjoyed it. To prepare this snack, I cut my sweet potato in half, then stick it in the oven at 400° F for about 40 minutes or until the potato is soft. Then I take it out and top it off with 2-3 tablespoons of peanut butter. (I like to add some cinnamon for some extra flavor.) This snack is about 269 calories with 9 grams of protein, 26.34 carbohydrates, and 16 grams of fat (mostly in the peanut butter).


Another one of my favorites—that also reminds me of Spa 23—is a “migraine relief” juice. After doing some research, I found a few on the blog, Vibrant Happy Healthy . There are several smoothies that I like from the website, but my top two favorites are the Anti-migraine Smoothie and the Hydrating Cucumber Smoothie. These smoothies are not only easy to make, but they’re also delicious and nutritious! I have one every morning with my breakfast and it helps prevent my migraines for some time.


Lastly, my main staple meal is a vegetable stir fry. Depending on what vegetables I have in the house, my stir fry meals can vary. However, there are a few key foods that I usually include: sliced summer squash, cut baby carrots, and green beans. Since brown rice is known to help with migraines, I add it to my stir fry as well. The main recipe I use comes from the website allrecipes.com, there, you can find the stir fry under Campbell’s Kitchen.



These healthy foods not only help my migraines, but they are also delicious! Feel free to leave a comment if you come up with any new recipes to help with migraines.





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page