top of page
  • Writer's pictureSpa 23

At Home Workout Apps


Written By: Victoria Tully


After all of the gyms closed, my motivation to work out steadily declined. The lack of structure that the quarantine has caused made it harder for me to get up in the morning to workout or run. I tried to make my own plan to stick to, but it was still hard for me to come up with workouts that I could do at home that would go along with my goals. However, after doing some research, I ended up finding some apps that really helped me.


#1 Nike Run Club


This app not only tracks where you run, but it also tracks your progress, vitals and pace. There are different levels that you can achieve after you’ve run a certain amount. The first level is yellow, then orange, then green etc., until you reach Volt which is 9,320 miles. If that’s not enough motivation, it also has small achievements that you can reach along the way like ‘Fastest 1K’ and ‘Fastest Run’. During your runs, you can set the app so that it’s a ‘quick-start’ which is similar to a free run; or you can set it to a certain distance, time or speed setting that goes along with your goals. They have also included ‘Guided Runs’ which allow a coach to help you during your run by giving you tips and motivation.



Here’s the homepage of the Nike Run Club. As you can see I haven’t ran much, but I’m working on it. I’m definitely more of a lifter, but I really want to work on my mile, and this app is perfect for it.



#2 Gymshark App


I downloaded this app about a year ago, and it took me a while to get the hang of it but once I did, I have used it everyday. The app is free to download, however you have to pay for certain workouts. All of the at home workouts as well as making your own workout plan are completely free. For example one workout I really enjoy is the HIIT at Home, it was made by Mr. and Mrs Muscle and lasts 22 minutes. You can also pick a workout by body parts; like if you wanted to include a quick ab workout at the end of your session, you would just have to scroll down to ‘Abs’ and they’d give you a list of different ab workouts for you to choose from. If you like a specific athlete’s regimen, you can follow some of their workouts/plans on the app. And lastly, if none of the workouts provided go along with your routine, you can make your own! You just have to go to ‘Custom” and you can create your own workout or plan. And as you go on, the app will track your progress that you’ve been keeping!


Here is the homepage of the Gymshark App. Here you can find plenty of free workouts you can do from home. Whether it’s one they already have made or you create yourself!


Even though these apps are definitely not the same as following along with the instructors at Spa or going to the gym in general, it definitely helps with staying consistent in quarantine. Check them out and let me know what you think!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page